Eagles Name Jalen Hurts And 6 Other Captains For 2022

The Eagles have announced seven captains for the 2022 season, as voted by the players.

• Jalen Hurts

• Jason Kelce

• Lane Johnson

• Brandon Graham

• Fletcher Cox

• Darius Slay

• Jake Elliott

In Doug Pederson’s last season as head coach, he stole votes from his players and named himself captain. Nick Siriani, in his first year as head coach, allowed players to vote. It happened again in the second year.

Jalen Hurts: At the age of 24, he was captain for two consecutive seasons. No surprises. He is a starting quarterback and also has natural leadership abilities. Even when he was serving as a backup as a rookie in 2020, players began to gravitate toward Hearts. He is the youngest of the Eagles’ seven captains.

Jason Kelce: The 34-year-old center is entering his 12th NFL season and has been captain for five consecutive seasons. Kelce has just returned from an elbow injury/surgery and is expected to be primed for the season opener on Sept. 11 in Detroit.

Lane Johnson: For some reason, the Eagles only had two offensive captains last year. They will add Johnson to the mix in 2022. The veteran right tackle is finally looking perfectly healthy and motivated by missing out on the Pro Bowl in 2021.

Fletcher Cox: Like Kelce, Cox has been the team’s captain for five consecutive seasons. It’s also possible this could be Cox’s last season with the Eagles, just like Kelce. He’s playing the 2022 season on a one-year, $14 million deal. Cox recently said he’s taking time this summer to appreciate everything a little more.

Brandon Graham: Graham, another recurring captain, has been honored four times in the last six seasons. increase. But Graham looked healthy at training camp, so the Eagles hope he still has it. He is the city’s longest-serving athlete.

Darius Slay: The Eagles walked Rodney MacLeod through free agency, and Slay earned a spot as captain.Slay is in his third season with the Eagles and is touted as a cornerback. But he was also a leader. Srey has always been happy to help young players on both sides of the ball. This is a great honor for him.

Jake Elliott: The Eagles kicker has his best Pro season and Pro Bowl honors.

Let’s take a look back at the captains year by year since the Eagles began naming captains in 2017.

2017: Carson Wentz, Jason Peters, Malcolm Jenkins, Brandon Graham, Chris Maragos

2018: Carson Wentz, Jason Kells, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Cam Gluger-Hill

2019: Carson Wentz, Jason Kells, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Cam Gluger-Hill/Duke Riley

2020: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelce, Jason Peters, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Duke Riley, Craig James

2021: Jalen Hartz, Jason Kelce, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney McLeod, Alex Singleton

2022: Jalen Hartz, Jason Kelce, Lane Johnson, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Darius Slay, Jake Elliott

Subscribe to the Eagle Eye Podcast

Apple Podcasts | Google Play | Spotify | Stitchers | Art 19 |

Leave a Comment